Chicken Soup for Cold Toes

30 Nov

There are certain foods that resonate in peoples’ minds with feelings of comfort and safety, like you just walked in the front door of your house and the table is already set for dinner. Your mom is in the kitchen with a big pot of the good stuff, and she tells you that you’re just in time. It’s the same dish she’s been making since you were a kid, and you like it that way because it makes you feel home.

There are actually a few dishes like that for me since my family has always been all about cooking and food, but one of them warms my body as well as my heart (cue the “awwwww”  crowd voice). Leandra, my mom, has always had a mean chicken soup that she would make if ever my brother or I was feeling even the tiniest bit sick, and I don’t think it cures any serious diseases, but it always made me feel better. Now that I am two time zones away from home and all the toe-warming heat of Florida, I need to make my own chicken soup to keep myself warm and cozy. I hope this soup keeps you feeling good this winter before you get to go scrape the ice of your vehicle. Stay cozy my friends.

Into the pot:

2 Chicken breasts, bone in

3 long carrots, sliced

3 stalks of celery, sliced

Quarter chopped onion

One can of peas, drained

One large container/can of chicken stock

Half the container full of water

Salt & pepper

Italian seasoning

Crushed rosemary

Cooked noodles (you can also use rice)

Throw all of the ingredients, except the noodles, into a large pot. Bring the soup to a boil, and then let it sit for an hour on medium-low for an hour. At that point, the chicken should be done so take it out and pull the meat away from the bones. Put the chicken back into the soup, and then add the cooked noodles. Tap out and munch down.

Leave a Reply

