Simply Sides: Parmesan-Crusted Brussels Sprouts

23 Nov

I feel like I’ve been giving you guys a lot of main dishes and not as many things to accompany them since I started D.D., but have no fear my friends. The sides are here and right in time for Thanksgiving! I don’t know about you guys, but my favorite part of the Turkey Day meal is not the bird. Bring me mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, candied carrots and peas. Onions, rolls and more green beans. Drizzle on the gravy, and it’s a happy day for mes.

Oh look, I’m so excited that I rhyme.

Alton Brown’s Good Eats is featuring brussels sprouts right now so I’ll start off the side show with 101 Cookbook’s golden-crusted sprouts. The girl who writes this is a genius for the single fact that she made a normally frowned-at veggie completely irresistible. My brother actually threw up on the dinner table after being forced to eat brussels sprouts when people still thought steamed was the only way to munch on sprouts. We’re gonna step it up a notch or three from that.

Brussels sprout (tip of the stem cut off and halved.)

Olive oil

Salt & pepper

Grated parmesan cheese

In a large bowl, douse the sprouts in olive oil and S&P.

Begin to sauté the sprouts, flat side down, in a large skillet on medium-low heat.

After about five minutes, sprinkle on the cheese and flip the sprouts. Stir them up a little bit and let the little guys go until tender.

Sprinkle on a little extra cheese when you serve it, just because you can.

Leave a Reply

